Kentucky Elk Photo Credit - KDFWR

A study was recently conducted for the Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources concerning Awareness of & Opinions on Elk Restoration & Management Efforts in Kentucky.

The Department, in partnership with the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation, established a 16-county elk restoration zone in 1997. The 16 counties included in the Elk restoration zone include: Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Perry, Pike, and Whitley.

After only 5 years of restoration efforts, the department achieved it’s goal of 10,000 elk and now Kentucky now boasts the largest free-ranging, wild elk herd east of Montana.

Overall, the study found that a large majority of Kentucky residents (78%) support having free-roaming, wild elk in southeastern Kentucky, with much of that support being strong support; only 8% oppose.

If you would like to download and read the entire report and survey it is available here: Kentucky Elk Restoration and Management Efforts.

How do you feel about the elk restoration efforts, Martin County?


Information provided by